Let’s Chat – April Virtual Support Groups

Posted March 31, 2020

lets chat virtual support groups

We know members of our community are feeling overwhelmed with the current situation with COVID-19 [Coronavirus]. It may seem a daunting time, and it is important to look after our emotional and mental health. We want to continue Connecting Our Dazzle during this time and providing additional support to our community.

Alongside our regular virtual support groups, Helpline, and scheduled webinars that continue as normal, the Ehlers-Danlos Society has set up additional virtual 1-hour events to provide a space where our community can talk with each other and members of the Society’s team.  Each event will be a chance to talk through your questions, speak with others for support, and address practical challenges that are arising.

Events will be run on ZOOM. The details for how to join, and, the dates, times, and Society staff members facilitating each event are advertised below.

It is free to join. We are limited to 100 people on any one call, with a first-come-first-serve policy.

It’s good to chat.

Dates, Times and Zoom Link Details

Wednesday, April 1, 7:00pm EDT (US and Canada) / Midnight BST / Thursday, April 2, 10:00am AEDT (Australia) Zoom Link

Tuesday, April 7, 7:00pm EDT (US and Canada) / Midnight BST / Wednesday, April 8, 10:00am AEDT (Australia) Zoom Link

Thursday, April 9, 12 noon EDT (US and Canada) / 5:00pm BST Zoom Link

Tuesday, April 14, 7:00pm EDT (US and Canada) / Midnight BST / Wednesday, April 15, 10:00am AEDT (Australia) Zoom Link

Thursday, April 16, 12 noon EDT (US and Canada) / 5:00pm BST Zoom Link

Monday, April 20, 12 noon EDT (US and Canada) / 5:00pm BST Zoom Link

Tuesday, April 21, 7:00pm EDT (US and Canada) / Midnight BST / Wednesday, April 22, 10:00am AEDT (Australia) Zoom Link

Thursday, April 23, 12 noon EDT (US and Canada) 5:00pm BST Zoom Link

Sunday, April 26, 7:00pm EDT (US and Canada) / Midnight BST / Monday, April 27, 10:00am AEDT (Australia) Zoom Link

Wednesday, April 29, 12 noon EDT (US and Canada) / 5:00pm BST Zoom Link

Use thetimezoneconverter.com to find the meeting time in your timezone.

 

Advice for new users of ZOOM

How to join a meeting?

We use the teleconferencing platform ZOOM. We will open the session 10 minutes before the start time to allow people to join.   

To start the joining process click on the invitation link in the table above.

You do not usually need to download ZOOM first. It should automatically open up on your PC, Mac, ipad, or android phone and take you straight to the meeting. 

When prompted by your device please  ‘Allow’ ZOOM access to your computer/phone audio and camera.

Do I need to have my camera on?

It helps interaction with the facilitators and with others in the session if you have your camera switched on during the session. 

We do understand that this is not always possible and we appreciate that there will be occasions when you need to have your camera switched off.

Where can I read more about ZOOM?

If you want to read more about ZOOM and check that it works on your system before the start of a session you can do this for free at www.zoom.us .

Categorized in: