Let’s Chat – Virtual Support Groups

Posted March 13, 2020

We know members of our community are feeling overwhelmed with the current situation with COVID-19 [Coronavirus]. It may seem a daunting time, and it is important to look after our emotional and mental health. 

Alongside our regular virtual support groups, Helpline, and scheduled webinars that continue as normal, the Ehlers-Danlos Society has set up additional virtual 1-hour events to provide a space where our community can talk with each other and members of the Society’s team.  Each event will be a chance to talk through your questions, speak with others for support, and address practical challenges that are arising.

Events will be run on ZOOM. The details for how to join, and, the dates, times, and Society staff members facilitating each event are advertised below.

It is free to join. We are limited to 100 people on any one call, with a first-come-first-serve policy.

Also, next week is National Conversation Week in the UK. Let’s make it international.

It’s good to chat.

Dates, Times and Zoom Link Details

Sunday, March 15, 1:00 pm EDT (US and Canada) / 5:00 pm GMT Zoom Link

Wednesday, March 18, 1:00 pm EDT (US and Canada) / 5:00 pm GMT Zoom Link

Friday, March 20, 11:00 am EDT (US and Canada) / 5:00 pm GMT Zoom Link

Monday, March 23, 1:00 pm EDT (US and Canada) / 5:00 pm GMT Zoom Link

Friday, March 27, 1:00 pm EDT (US and Canada) / 5:00 pm GMT Zoom Link

Tuesday, March 31, 12 noon EDT (US and Canada) / 5:00 pm BST Zoom Link

Use thetimezoneconverter.com to find the meeting time in your timezone.

 

Advice for new users of ZOOM

How to join a meeting?

We use the teleconferencing platform ZOOM. We will open the session 10 minutes before the start time to allow people to join.   

To start the joining process click on the invitation link in the table above.

You do not usually need to download ZOOM first. It should automatically open up on your PC, Mac, ipad, or android phone and take you straight to the meeting. 

When prompted by your device please  ‘Allow’ ZOOM access to your computer/phone audio and camera.

Do I need to have my camera on?

It helps interaction with the facilitators and with others in the session if you have your camera switched on during the session. 

We do understand that this is not always possible and we appreciate that there will be occasions when you need to have your camera switched off.

Where can I read more about ZOOM?

If you want to read more about ZOOM and check that it works on your system before the start of a session you can do this for free at www.zoom.us .

Tags: , , , ,

Categorized in: